Taiwanese spring onion pancakes – Yum! :)

delicious to eat burrito-style, too! :)

delicious Taiwanese spring-onion pancakes, burrito-style!

My Taiwanese friend Ya Shuen, who I met in the streets of Pana (Panajachel, on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala), came to visit me last Tuesday to see the work I was doing and have a look at the bamboo buildings that I so raved about. We spent all day walking around three different villages looking at different natural buildings, and were so enthralled that we lost track of time and she missed her boat back to Pana (they stop running at 5 pm). So, having no other option she stayed for dinner, and prepared these delicious Taiwanese spring onion pancakes that I’ll show you here. These photos are of some others that I made myself later, with whole-wheat flour instead of white flour, which are healthier but much less tasty. I recommend you try making them at home though, because they’re not very difficult to make and they’re really yummy!
One of the things I love about this recipe is how it makes the most of the green onions, using the white bottoms for the dipping sauce and the green stalks for the pancakes. They are also different to most other pancakes in that they are actually made from dough and not from a batter, and you won’t believe how tasty they are!🙂

Rather than repeat what others have said before me, I’ll just send you here for a recipe but I’ll share the photos of the process.

Hope you enjoy these Eastern treats!

resting the dough

resting the dough

double duty - chopping off the whites of the scallions

double duty – chopping off the whites of the scallions for the dipping sauce and keeping the greens for the pancakes. Asian elegance!🙂

all ingredients are now chopped and ready

done chopping!

rolling the pancakes

rolling up the pancakes

rolling out the pancakes

rolling out the pancakes

frying 'em up!

frying ’em up!

delicious to eat burrito-style, too! :)

delicious to eat burrito-style, too!🙂

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

